The Loose Screw 

Our pastor at Journey Community Church gave a fantastic sermon this morning on the difference between becoming a Christian and consistently being a follower of Jesus. He spoke about how Jesus came to earth to make disciples and not Christians. It is so easy to say you are a Christian but a lot more tricky to take up your cross and imitate Christ every day. 

Church really inspired me today. It was our fifth week attending (not that I’m counting) and this was the first Sunday I’ve felt comfortable and at ease there. I went and asked for prayer after the service which really calmed me as well. This is Church as it should be. We were made to feel welcome and at home. Plus there was lots of food….which always helps.

Upon getting home we started tidying up the back yard for the winter. I was on sweeping duties but my task was made all the more difficult due to a loose screw. Now before you all start I was not the one with the aforementioned problem although it wouldn’t be the first time I’ve been accused of having a screw loose.


No, the faulty screw connected (or at least was meant to connect) the brush itself to the brush handle. And no matter how hard I tried it made it nigh on impossible to sweep up the fallen leaves adorning out patio. I pushed the handle one way, the brush swivelled in the opposite direction and the leaves went in every direction. Stephen 1 Mother Nature 0.

Matters deteriorated from there as I was reduced to crawling about on my hands and knees trying to corral the errant leaves into a dustpan via a combination of a short handled brush and my bare hands. ‘Perhaps you should go and buy a new brush?’ a bewildered Fionnuala suggested from across the yard. I accepted defeat like any mature, adult male and skulked off to the village shop with my tail well and truly between my legs.

The comedy that was attaching the new brush to its handle is another story which may require a three blog series all of its own. Suffice to say with a properly functioning brush my task was made a lot easier. Before you could say ‘Stephen is a walking DIY disaster’ the yard had been cleared and looking a lot tidier than it had an hour earlier. If I had persisted with the wonky brush I would probably still be at it come Christmas.

Our pastor challenged us today about who, if anyone, we are discipling within our sphere of influence. After much soul searching I came up with nothing. I profess I’m a Christian but, of late, I have done little to evidence to others that I am following in the footsteps of Jesus. If he is the brush handle then I’m the wobbly brush, careering ineffectively in the opposite direction from where He wants me to go. And the people (leaves) in my life who I should be having a positive impact on are being overlooked and left to their own devices.

All because of a little screw. About the size of a mustard seed. My faith. Without it the whole show grinds to a halt. Unless I believe I can be more like Jesus then I never will. I will always be shackled to sin, death and self-doubt. I need to fuel and feed my faith, tighten that tiny screw of faith until it cannot be budged whatever the world throws against it. Without I will never be able to confidently sweep through my friends and family with the message that Jesus brought to the world. 

It’s time to start sweeping….

Matthew 19:21 – ‘Jesus said to him, ‘If you wish to be complete, go and sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow me.’

Do you believe there is a difference between being a Christian and being a follower of Jesus?

Are you doing enough to sweep up disciples in your community?

31 thoughts on “The Loose Screw 

Add yours

  1. Wow! That was a great message. I think sharing these kind of lessons related to real life is a testament of your faith. You never know who is reading and needs a little push the right way. When Christians open themselves up and become real to others it’s more relatable and Christians can grab the chance to disciple others through our own example of living our lives.

    Like

  2. I think there’s a big difference between giving intellectual assent to the idea and teachings of Christ, vs. than inviting the Holy Spirit to guide and directing our lives and standing on the truth of the Bible as the Standard that anchors our lives. Sadly, as I heard Tony Evans say one time, I fear that Jesus has more (often fair-weather) fans than followers.

    Like

  3. I agree with the others! Your writing is a ministry to others! I really enjoy reading your blog! You share many wonderful ideas and thoughts!

    Like

  4. Okay, I really see what you were talking about 🙂

    I think posts we share, even if they aren’t the most positive, can be uplifting, especially for others. We are accountable for ourselves, and for how we come across to others. So, being honest is really good. God has shown me sharing my brokennes with others is a great opportunity to push myself in faith. I’m sharing because, as you wrote 😉 ) I am EXCITED, and I eagerly desire and wait to see what God will do in my life! I’m excited to use this weakness to glorify Him. There is power in weakness, that’s God 🙂 He’s speaking to you, and I think by you sharing, you clearly are listening, and it is stirring your heart.

    I’m so glad to hear you feel at home in your new church. That’s wonderful!!!

    Like

      1. No, my husband for a while had a job in which he worked extremely late. It’s definitely something I want to do with him. One other problem is the fact there are a decent amount of churches, but many of them are not what I want to be a part of (belief wise) and the bigger churches have never attracted me.

        Like

  5. Amen! Great message of encouragement! Thanks for sharing! Our faith is definitely a big deal that we have to be intentional with or else we can become so negative and desensitized in this world we are in today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

