Acceleration 

In previous posts I have spoken about my prophetic leanings. I will get a picture or words in my head that do not tie in with my normal thought processes. They stand out as a little askew or ‘not of me.’ An example is given in my previous post ‘Blog Of Welcome’. I tend to write about them as (a) they are few and far between and (b) I want to document them so I can look back on them later in order to ascertain whether or not they were accurate.

This is a raw ability, if I can even use that word. I have had no formal mentoring or teaching in this area so take everything I say with a large pinch of salt. It is totally untested. So please don’t put your life savings on anything I ever say on this blog.

Some months ago I got a word that September was going to be a month of acceleration. I have only told Fionnuala and a couple of wise friends about this message as I do not know what or who it applies to; but I strongly believe that it relates to this September and as we enter August the significance of the word continues to grow within me. Leading to me sharing it on here with you all today.

The word acceleration means ‘the rate of change of velocity of an object with respect to time.’ This tallies with Newton’s Second Law of Motion which states ‘that the rate of change of momentum of a body is directly proportional to the force applied, and this change in momentum takes place in the direction of the applied force.’

The above paragraph may make me sound like a boffin but I must fess up that I ‘borrowed’ it from good old Wikipedia. Physics was my worst subject at school. I once scored 14% in a multiple choice exam. Afterwards my Physics teacher, in front of all my peers, derisively informed me that even a trained monkey should have averaged at least 20%. His words forever killed off whatever little love I had for the science.


My scientific knowledge is therefore decidedly suspect. But I can drive a car. Just about. Which has allowed me to make the following observations.

1. Cars need drivers – the fastest Formula One car in the world will just sit in the garage and rust unless it has a Lewis Hamilton to press the accelerator, change the gears and steer it round the track. It takes two to tango. And the same applies to any Christian. God may be nudging you in a certain direction but he needs you to step out in faith and start the ball rolling. Be it an awkward conversation or seemingly risky decision you have to ‘step out of the boat’ and move forward. Leave the rest to him.

2. God doesn’t do speed limits – the six points I have currently accumulated on my driving licence (I mean 38 miles per hour (mph) in a 30 mph zone come on!) testify that accelaerating beyond what is the legal limit has grim circumstances. God, however, doesn’t work that way. You might dither, doubt and delay but if his desire means you slipping into the fast lane of life then so be it. Just ask Moses. Backwater shepherd one day, leader of a nation the next. God’s timetable for your life operates at his pace, not ours. All he requires from us is obedience.

3. Acceleration doesn’t mean reckless – two drivers take an hour to drive between adjacent towns. They are then asked to drive back. The first driver takes 30 minutes, the second takes 55 minutes. What have they in common? They have both accelerated. Following God’s plan for your life doesn’t necessarily mean ripping up trees and relocating to the other side of the country. Not all of us are going to be global evangelists or megachurch pastors. Instead it can be something as ‘insignificant’ as befriending a new neighbour or volunteering for the tea & coffee rota at church. Again we operate at his pace, not our own. For some that will be jet propulsion; for others a much more sedate pace. But still progression, still acceleration.

I encourage you to be open to God’s voice in your life at all times. Tune in your God radar via prayer, worship and study. Until you are receiving God FM loud and crystal clear. And if he prompts you to put the pedal to the metal do so with a willing heart and without fear. You are in safe and loving hands. 

For September is only just around the corner.

How many times have you fallen foul of the speed camera?

What is your dream car?

Are there areas of your life where God is asking you to accelerate? What are you doing about this?

20 thoughts on “Acceleration 

  1. you should check out every spirit. satan copy God even in visions – my own experience.
    btw God have nothing mind, if you ask Him – did He sent that vision or not.
    for first time i did check out whole week. i did ask scripture, that He repeat, explainings and so on.
    And He did NOT get angry. Never did, in my life.

    Like

  2. I see an acceleration as well. Of both the deception of the enemy and the revival of Gods lost. The momentum is already rolling for both but a snowball effect is gaining speed for both. Great word! Never hesitate to tell a word that you know came from God…I understand the clarify that it IS of God before sharing. Imagine how crazy Ezekiels Wheel must have seemed…God gives each person gifts…enjoy them ❤️

    Like

  3. Thanks so much for this word! It coincides with several other affirmations I have received in the past few days. I believe God is going to bring about some insanely awesome changes these next few years. Thanks for sharing, I always enjoy your posts!

    Like

  4. Several months ago I told a friend of mine that I felt the Lord was telling me that things will begin to happen in September. It’s that same exact thing. Things have quickly began to take place and I have realized that September is definitely a month of acceleration for me personally.

    Like

  5. Great post. I only drive in Ireland as the uk has awful drivers and woeful penalisation rules, thus I own a clean licence.
    Dream car is a Chrysler Crossfire or a Q7 – I’m more likely to get a crossfire so not such a big dream
    God wants me to empower others, I haven’t quite figured it out yet but I am listening 💜

    Like

  6. I do not know so much about accelerating, but I know He wants me to be consistent. Stay in the faith, keep praying, and don’t lose heart in writing. This post definitely makes you think : )

    Like

  7. You visited my most recent post, so I took a peek at yours so I don’t think I need to tell you that I think I’m already feeling the effects of acceleration in my corner of the world. I’ve been feeling a great deal of pressure as of late and been worried that life will just snowball me over. I’m hoping that today is the breakthrough I need to push forward.

    I will say that I am relieved to see someone else sharing a similar experience with premonitions like yours. Mine used to come in fragmented dreams that centered on a single image or word and people often made fun of me for them. So hold fast to it. I’ve found if it’s the real deal it will echo around you through others in everyday life.

    Like

  8. I understand about listening to God. If I don’t pay attention eventually he will hit me over the head with a 2×4 board. I also understand your reference to nudges to focus on something and we don’t understand why. Some of me recent blogs have been because God kept nudging about some issues until I listened and wrote about them. My husband has more immediate results of knowing and it still bothers him. I wait to see what September brings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

